Spicy NYC Diner-Style Home Fries

I like diner food. I think NYC has the best diner food- yes, I am biased. But, seriously take me to a a diner in another state that is better than a NYC diner. Yah, it probably doesn’t exist, hehe. In any case, we were in the mood for some diner-style food, and didn’t really want to drive to the local diner (which is 5 minutes away, I know laziness at its peak!). So I decided to make some homefries- crispy on one side, salty, and loaded with onions. Of course, I added a little spice, but it was pretty much pimped-out diner-style potatoes. Did I mention they’re healthy, vegetarian and vegan? Yup!

Diner-Style Homefries:

  • 1 idaho potatoes- washed
  • 1 medium white onion- thick diced
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp onion powder
  • cayenne pepper- to taste
  • salt-to taste
  • coarse black pepper- few grinds
  • PAM original flavor
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil (I use extra virgin)
  • 2-3 tbsp cilantro– finely chopped (optional)

Ghetto style boiled potatoes.

1. Wrap each potato in plastic wrap and microwave for about 4 minutes each until 4 tender. Set aside to cool. Dice into medium-sized cubes (same size as onions preferably).

2. Meanwhile in a large non-stick skillet spray with PAM and pour oil and set over medium flame. Add onions and saute for 2 minutes. Add spices and saute until fragrant and onions are soft- about 5-7 minutes. Add potatoes and combine with spices and onions. Saute for about 8 minutes, with 5 minutes covered. This is when the potatoes will get crispy on one side- increase/decrease flame accordingly. I had it on medium-high flame. Uncover, taste for salt and spices. Place in serving dish and top with chopped cilantro (if desired). Serve with favorite breakfast meal!

Serves 2-4 people

Want more yummy Breakfast Options?

Taco Omelette

Zesty Stuffed Bagel

Healthy Egg n’Cheese Sandwich

7 thoughts on “Spicy NYC Diner-Style Home Fries

  1. These were amazing, so tasty you don’t even need ketchup or other condiments. Make sure you let them cool down before eating!! lol

    1. thank you! I’ve recently learned some photography tricks, so they look just a LITTLE more professional! Hehe! Please let me know if you try my recipe, and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment